The Finnish National Committee of Arctic and Antarctic Research

The Finnish National Committee of Arctic and Antarctic Research works to advance Finnish polar research and it is the national committee for Scientific Committee on Antarctic Research (SCAR) and International Arctic Science Committee (IASC). All the most significant institutions conducting Arctic or Antarctic research in Finland are represented in the national committee.

The activities of the Finnish National Committee of Arctic and Antarctic Research are coordinated and supported by the Council of Finnish Academies. The Council allocates national committees from various disciplines with state subsidies from the Ministry of Education and Culture.

Members of the Finnish National Committee of Arctic and Antarctic Research (2018–2020)

Finnish Academy of Science and Letters
Member: Professor Maria Lähteenmäki
Deputy member: Professor Juha-Pekka Lunkka

The Finnish Society of Sciences and Letters:
Member: Professor Hannu Koskinen
Deputy member: Professor Alf Norkko

Aalto University, School of Engineering:
Member: Professor Jukka Tuhkuri
Deputy member: Assistant Professor Arttu Polojärvi

University of Helsinki, Faculty of Science:
Member: University Lecturer Anu Kaakinen
Deputy member: Professor Tuukka Petäjä

University of Lapland, the Arctic Centre:
Member: Director, Research Professor Timo Koivurova
Deputy member: University Researcher, Vice Director Osmo Rätti

University of Oulu:
Member: Professor Arja Rautio
Deputy member: Research Coordinator Kirsi Latola

University of Turku, Faculty of Science and Engineering:
Member: Professor Jukka Käyhkö
Deputy member: Station Manager Otso Suominen

The Finnish Meteorological Institute:
Member: Research Professor Jouni Pulliainen
Deputy member: Research Professor Timo Vihma

Geological Survey of Finland:
Member: Senior Scientist Antti Ojala
Deputy member: Research Professor Pertti Sarala

Finnish Geospatial Research Institute:
Member: Professor Markku Poutanen
Deputy member: Senior Scientist Jyri Näränen

Finnish Environment Institute:
Member: Director of Marine Research Centre Paula Kankaanpää
Deputy member: Senior Scientist Hermanni Kaartokallio

VTT Technical Research Centre of Finland Ltd:
Member: Principal Scientist Jaakko Heinonen
Deputy member: Senior Principal Scientist Seppo Kivimaa

International partners
Scientific Committee on Antarctic Research (SCAR)
International Arctic Science Committee (IASC)
European Polar Board (EPB)




Contact information

Chair, Paula Kankaanpää
Finnish Environment Institute
Secretary, Anne Raja-Hanhela
Arctic Centre, University of Lapland


Celebrating 60 years of Antarctic Science
Scientific Committee on Antarctic Research (SCAR).pdf 
(press release 5.2.2018)

Finland-Canada Arctic Research Cooperation Workshop

Tuesday 14th November 2017
Rovaniemi, Finland

Read more



Our website uses cookies, read more about cookies. By continuing to browse the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. [I Agree]